Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Cabinet Sat on Monday May 6, 2019 at State House Entebbe, and;

1.Noted the progress on renovation and upgrade of Mulago National Referral Hospital and authorized additional funding of USD 9,511,726 for the project to be completed.

2.Approved  areas that constitute  the second  licensing round which are  LR2_2019 _Block 01 (Avivi) , LR2_2019_Block02(Omuka), LR2_2019_ Block 03( Kasuruban), LR2_2019_Block 04(Turaco) and LR2_2019_Block 05( Ngaji) and Noted the Plans  for the second licensing round in respect of petroleum exploration , development and production  in Uganda.

The objectives of implementing the second licensing round include among others;

i.Establishment  of additional petroleum resources and reserves to the current  recoverable reserves estimated at 1.4 billion barrels of oil and 500 Billion cubic feet of non-associated gas;

ii.Promotion of National content, the exploration licensing   is envisaged to create several opportunities for national participation through  service provision  and employment;

iii.Conducive investment climate and minimal geological and commercial risks.


3.Approved the creation of Terego District which will comprise of: 2 counties of Terego East and Terego West; 6 sub-counties; 39 Parishes and 376 Villages.



4.Noted  that activities marking the, NRM Manifesto  weeks  will be held from    9th – 24th May 2019 .The two weeks’  activities is an annual  occasion to take stock of, and popularize the achievements of Government  towards the realization  of the Manifesto  commitments that were made by the NRM party  during the 2016 General elections.

5.Approved the release of Shs 40,000,000 (forty Billion shillings) from the Contingencies Fund for emergency procurement of relief food for the 3,500,000 people at the verge of starvation in the sub regions of Karamoja, Teso, Bukedi, parts of Busoga and Acholi and the large section of the cattle corridor.

6.Approved the Members of the Board of Directors of Uganda Broadcasting Corporation (UBC) for a three year term. The approved members are;

i)Mr. James Rwehabura TumusiimweChairperson

ii)Ms. Hadijja Nassanga MiiroMember

iii)Mr. Mike Okua  Member

iv)Mr. Richard BarungiMember

v)Ms. Tezira JamwaMember

vi)Maj. Christopher Oballa MageziMember

vii)Ms. Sarah NamumbyaMember

viii)Mr. Winston AgabaMember (MD)

7.Approved the Members of Board of Directors of Uganda Post limited (UPL) for a three year term. The approved members of the Board are;

i)Mr. Suleiman Balyejusa Kirunda- Chairperson

ii)Ms.Dorothy Telopecho Butuli- Member   representing PWDs

iii)Mr. Hussein Kashillingi Rugaba- Member

iv)Mr. Richard Mwesiga- Member

v)Mr. Herbert Kigundu Mugerwa- Member

vi)Ms. Lillian Aber- Member 

The 7th member is the sitting Managing Director. 






Ofwono Opondo

Executive Director